University of Science & Technology Chittagong

Overview of UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY CHITTAGONG (USTC)University of Science & Technology Chittagong (USTC) (Bengali: বিজ্ঞান ও প্রযুক্তি বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়, চট্টগ্রাম) is a first private university in Bangladesh. The university was established with the sponsorship of a private charity on May 13, 1989. Previously it was started as Institute of Applied Health Sciences (IAHS), later it was upgraded to USTC as a full phased university after the promulgation of the Private University Act, 1992. In January 2018 IAHS renamed as Dr Nurul Islam Memorial Institute of Applied Health Science.


  • ❏ Sustain development and progress of the university
  • ❏ Continue to upgrade educational services and facilities responsive of the demands for change and needs of the society
  • ❏ Inculcate professional culture among management, faculty and personnel in the attainment of the institution’s vision, mission and goals
  • ❏ Enhance research consciousness in discovering new dimensions for curriculum development and enrichment
  • ❏ Implement meaningful and relevant community outreach programs reflective of the available resources and expertise of the university
  • ❏ Establish strong networking of programs, sharing of resources and expertise with local and international educational institutions and organizations
  • ❏ Accelerate the participation of alumni, students and professionals in the implementation of educational programs and development of projects designed to expand and improve global academic standards

University of Science & Technology Chittagong

Year of establishment 1992
Persent campus Foy’s Lake, Khulshi, Chittagong-4202
Permanent campus Foy’s Lake, Khulshi, Chittagong-4202
Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Md. Jahangir Alam
Pro Vice Chancellor
Registrar Prof. Shams-ud-Doha
Contact Phone : 659070-71(109) Fax : 031-659545 Email :,,
Telephone / Mobile

Official Website:

UGC Approved Faculties:

  • Faculty of Basic Medical & Pharmaceutical Science
  • Faculty of Business Administration
  • Faculty of Science Engineering and Technology
  • Faculty of Social Science & Humanities

Leave a Reply